1967   -   His Majesty Jigme Dorji Wangchuck, the Third King of Bhutan commanded the           Health Department to introduce Traditional Medicine Services in the country

1968   -  Established an Indigenous Dispensary at Dechencholing, Thimphu

1971   -  Started on the job Training Programme for Menpa as per the 32nd  National                             Assembly Resolution, Article Number 11 at the Indigenous Dispensary

1978   -  Started Drungtsho Training Programme as per the Royal Command of  His                             Majesty Jigme Singye Wangchuck, the Fourth King of Bhutan

1979   -  Dispensary was upgraded as the Indigenous Hospital and shifted  to the present site                  in Kawang Jangsa from Dechencholing

           -  First Traditional Medicine Unit was established in Trashigang District

1982   -  Started mechanized production of Traditional Medicines with support from the                        World Health Organization (WHO)

1988   -  Indigenous Hospital was upgraded as the National Institute of Traditional  Medicine               with support from an Italian NGO (DISVI)

1992   -  The Training Centre was shifted from Dechencholing to Kawang Jangsa

1996   -  Instituted Revolving Fund for Pharmaceutical and Research Unit to ensure                               sustainability of traditional medicine production.

1997   -  Established Pharmaceutical and Research Unit with support from  European Union.

1998   -  National Institute of Traditional Medicine was upgraded as the Institute of                               Traditional Medicine Services with the following functional units:

              - National Institute of Traditional Medicine

              - National Traditional Medicine Hospital

              - Pharmaceutical and Research Unit

              - Created the post of Director for Traditional Medicine Services

2001  -  Completed the establishment of Traditional Medicine Unit in all 20 Districts

2003  -  National Institute of Traditional Medicine became one of the Founding Members of                the Royal University of Bhutan

2008  -  National Institute of Traditional Medicine formally became part of the Royal                          University of Bhutan after signing the Memorandum of Understanding between  the                Ministry of Health and the Royal University of Bhutan

2011  -  Royal University of Bhutan is delinked from the Royal Civil Service Commission                   and became as an Autonomous Organization through an Executive Order of the                       Prime Minister of Bhutan

2013  -  National Institute of Traditional Medicine is delinked from the Royal  University of                Bhutan and became part of the newly established University of Medical  Sciences of              Bhutan as Faculty of Traditional Medicine

         -  Created the Department of Traditional Medicine Services under the Ministry of                        Health

2015 - Launched the Khesar Gyalpo University of Medical Sciences of Bhutan.